American Pie

I am on my way to minor surgery. Should not be a big issue but everyone I know get nerves we did not know we had running as it nears. I am superstitious and there are things that just freak me out. Like hearing “we don’t talk anymore” by Cliff Richard just when I got in my car in 1980 when my high school sweetheart broke off the relationship. We never did not speak again. Wonder where she is? Almost 30 years ago and I remember that so I guess the concussion is better?

Well, I use my I-Pod on the stereo as a alarm. I set it on random play for my songs and each morning I wake to a gem. Today, I woke to Don McLean singing “American Pie”. You may not know the song but it goes.

So bye-bye, miss american pie.
Drove my chevy to the levee,
But the levee was dry.
And them good old boys were drinkin whiskey and rye
Singin, “this’ll be the day that I die.
this’ll be the day that I die.”

So I am sure I will be fine as all my superstitions never come true. But what was god thinking with this wake up call? I am taking it as a sign to be real careful and not to take recovery from anesthesia and minor surgery without great care and concern.

Especially for a 46 year old who needs to lose 50 pounds…

As a side note, I noted today I have a bruise from mid-chest all the way up to the shoulder. It goes from about an inch wide at the bottom to 5 inches wide at the shoulder. I can lift my arm about shoulder height but not higher. It is still painful! Well, I can take Advil later today and I have looked forward to that since crashing the bike Saturday!

UPDATE: Surgery went fine. ACL issues were negligible… calcium issue means about 6 weeks before we run. I am loopy and going to rest (Update posted 2:30 PM Friday the 17th of July)

Carry on.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “American Pie

  1. Kel

    Good luck Londell!Looking forward to seeing you back out on the trails very soon 🙂

  2. RunWesty

    Great news, take your time with the recovery, looking forward to seeing you back running soon.

  3. Wayne

    Glad to hear it went well, Londell! Rest up.

  4. Beth

    Yeah! I'm so glad the surgery went well. Now you can recover from the surgery and the bike accident. You'll be running again in no time. Take care!

Leave a Reply

